Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms
I am a mom of 2 dd and live in nj. Before kids i was a teacher public school teacher in NY. Funny thing is that I do not think I could ever teach my own children!!

We do not home school. We don't know anyone who does as I do not think it is common practice where I live.

So, I was wondering what are your reason for homeschooling?
by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
Replies (21-30):
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Jul. 1, 2013 at 12:15 PM
1 mom liked this

We homeschool for most of the above reasons. Our area schools are some of the top rated in our state, but that didn't even make a difference when I saw little Kindergartners becoming more sexualized in their behaviour and dress. My children will remain children for a little longer than that , thank you very much. I had a late reader who had absolutely nothing wrong with him other than just not having an interest in learning to read. He was 9 before he learned. Can you imagine how that would have gone over in ps? That poor child would have been tested, diagnosed, and drugged faster than you blink. But you know what? In one year he caught completely up to ohter kids his age. All because I waited till he was ready. Not because someones official timetable said he should. My dd can explore her photography by apprenticing with  a local photography anytime she wants, my ds can work in his dad's shop anytime he wants and is learning job skills. at age 10. My dd is taking a babysitting course and now she is being hired as the jr childcare provider for a group of Classical Conversations families in our area. None of these opportunities would be available to them if we didn't homeschool.