Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms
I am a mom of 2 dd and live in nj. Before kids i was a teacher public school teacher in NY. Funny thing is that I do not think I could ever teach my own children!!

We do not home school. We don't know anyone who does as I do not think it is common practice where I live.

So, I was wondering what are your reason for homeschooling?
by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
Replies (31-40):
melindabelcher
by Mel on Jul. 2, 2013 at 11:48 AM
Ours does but not untill older ages.

Quoting Beebella:

To the moms that say their kids were too advanced, did your public schools have gifted and talented programs?

somuchlove4U
by Bronze Member on Jul. 2, 2013 at 11:49 AM
1 mom liked this
There really isn't one website that sums up homeschooling. There are many different styles and ways of homeschooling.

Quoting rosiemarie:

My interest has be peeked

Is there a site that I could get a good feel for the homeschooling program....I know I think there are more then one??
Beebella
by on Jul. 2, 2013 at 11:52 AM
In NYC they start in kindergarten. I was in it and it was plenty challenging and alternative to mainstream learning. I was just wondering if these parents had their kids tested for the gifted classes before they decided on homeschooling.

Quoting melindabelcher:

Ours does but not untill older ages.

Quoting Beebella:

To the moms that say their kids were too advanced, did your public schools have gifted and talented programs?

celticdragon77
by on Jul. 2, 2013 at 11:56 AM
1 mom liked this

It is funny how many things can be going on in a town without you knowing it. I have lived in this area since I was 10yrs old, and I am still exploring and finding new things. I love that about where I live =)