Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Making Lesson Plans...

Posted by on Jul. 17, 2013 at 4:42 PM
  • 8 Replies
1 mom liked this

This is my first year making lesson plans due to the fact we have used teacher led online schools in the past. SO its taking me forever! I am using Switched on School House with Time for Learning and workbooks as well. So matching up the same lessons with the days are driving me crazy! Any advice on making this a little more simple?

by on Jul. 17, 2013 at 4:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
romacox
by Silver Member on Jul. 17, 2013 at 6:29 PM

I am not sure I understand your specific question.  But this is what I do: When You Home School, The Whole World Is Your Classroom (much simpler than trying to duplicate the classroom) .  It contains grade level requirements, how to create your own lesson plans ( template included), and lesson plans that motivate.

TJandKarasMom
by Debbie on Jul. 17, 2013 at 8:18 PM

I am having some of the same problems, right now I am just working on History using Story of the World, The Times Complete History of the World, the Story of the World Activity Book, allinonehomeschool.com, and Netflix documentaries. 

The best idea I have is to not plan the lessons for certain days, instead I just number them.  That way if we don't finish a lesson or happen to get through 2 lessons in one day, it's really easy to bump the plans ahead or pull them back.

I just lay out my books, and websites and type up a word doc with what chapter/pages to read, what activities to do, additional reading, movie if there is one.