Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

What do you think? Need input

Posted by on Aug. 19, 2013 at 4:15 PM
  • 13 Replies
1 mom liked this
So my 6yo has a terrible impression of "school" and I don't know why. I loved school at his age, and he really does have fun once he settles down to it. But getting him to start is rough. I know that a routine will help that some, and I'm working on it but we just moved, and DH is on vacation from work so having him home shakes things up a bit too.

On to the question- today was day 2 and he was "never going to do stupid school" and I just came up with an idea that seemed to do the trick but I am very new to this and want advice. I said that every day he brings his good attitude and doesn't have a meltdown or say something is stupid, he gets a poker chip (I just called it a chip, lol). He can trade in 20 chips for a "day off." We'll use that day to do something fun and hopefully educational, like a museum or something.

So IF he gets a chip every day (he won't, lol) that's a day off every 4 weeks. What do you think?

Today after I told him about it, he walked out of the door, turned around, and came back in with a smile and said he was ready to do school. He did all the work assigned (with appropriate breaks) and earned his chip!
by on Aug. 19, 2013 at 4:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tuffymama
by Bronze Member on Aug. 19, 2013 at 4:19 PM
That's a good reward system, as long as it works. ODS never would have tolerated it, and at the end of the day, that kid had no currency whatsoever. Zilch. I think something like that would work well with LO, though.
coala
by Silver Member on Aug. 19, 2013 at 4:27 PM