Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

does this seem excessive to you?

Posted by   + Show Post

an acquaintance of mine is homeschooling her pre-k aged kid.  my idea of pre-k is very laid back and non-structured.  according to her facebook, she is spending 4ish hours a day.   that's the amount of time it takes for me to 2nd grade.  my kindergartener only spends an hour-ish each day.  now, i'm wondering if i'm not spending enough time.  

how long do you spend each day on lower grades?

(even though i'm in my 3rd year of hsing, i always second guess myself)

by on Sep. 6, 2013 at 10:07 AM
Replies (11-20):
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Sep. 6, 2013 at 11:37 AM
1 mom liked this

My 6th and 7th graders spend about 4 hours on school. I think spending that much time on pre k is a bit excessive.

candiedgala
by on Sep. 6, 2013 at 11:47 AM
2 moms liked this
I'm planning a long preschool day, but it includes outdoor time and just about every lesson is less school and more guided play. It's really more geared toward my commitment to making opportunities for her. So, even though the school time is technically long it isn't a heavy workload.
debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Sep. 6, 2013 at 12:27 PM
1 mom liked this

My preschoolers spend about 30 or 40 minutes.  My older 2 as preschoolers took about 2 to 3 hours when they were preschoolers.  It really depends on the kids. 

Since my oldest started kindergarten we have done 4 to 5 hours a day, but there is lots of stuff we have done that is just lots of fun.

celticdragon77
by on Sep. 6, 2013 at 12:32 PM
1 mom liked this

Everyone does things differently. You have to do what works for your family.

BrettsMommy927
by on Sep. 6, 2013 at 12:35 PM
1 mom liked this

my pre-k, was in public school, but he was at home for kindergarten, and we did about 2 hrs a day. Now were up to 4.

usmom3
by BJ on Sep. 6, 2013 at 1:00 PM