Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

does this seem excessive to you?

Posted by   + Show Post

an acquaintance of mine is homeschooling her pre-k aged kid.  my idea of pre-k is very laid back and non-structured.  according to her facebook, she is spending 4ish hours a day.   that's the amount of time it takes for me to 2nd grade.  my kindergartener only spends an hour-ish each day.  now, i'm wondering if i'm not spending enough time.  

how long do you spend each day on lower grades?

(even though i'm in my 3rd year of hsing, i always second guess myself)

by on Sep. 6, 2013 at 10:07 AM
Replies (21-29):
Molimomma
by Member on Sep. 6, 2013 at 3:38 PM
1 mom liked this

My son is 3.5 doing some pre-K and a little bit of K but I do it in bite-sized increments because he has a very short attention span(normal for his age) we do 2-3 hours total at the absolute max but that includes calendar math, play dough time, story time before nap and whatever math & phonics things we are doing that week. 

collinsmommy0
by Member on Sep. 6, 2013 at 4:13 PM
1 mom liked this
It depends on what she's counting as preschool. I do maybe 10 minutes per day of direct, planned activities with my 2 year old....but then we may spend 30 minutes making waffles or muffins, 20 minutes playing play doh, 30 minutes at the park, we may look for snails & bugs while we go for a walk, etc & I could *technically* call that preschool time but its just ou regular day stuff.
marrionsmommy
by on Sep. 7, 2013 at 12:06 AM
1 mom liked this