Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Where do I start???

Posted by on Sep. 9, 2013 at 11:12 PM
  • 9 Replies

My son is 4! DH and I have already decided we will home school...but where do I start? What are my requirements ect....Im completely new to this! 

What age did you guys start homeschooling?

by on Sep. 9, 2013 at 11:12 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
usmom3
by BJ on Sep. 9, 2013 at 11:54 PM

Welcome to the group! Learn what the homeschool laws for your state are. Most states compulsory education dose not start before age 5 some even go as late as age 7. What that means is that you don't have to abide by the laws until your child is that age. Figure out your child's learning style, this will help you with what materials to use to teach him.

romacox
by Silver Member on Sep. 10, 2013 at 5:58 AM

Welcome Jensep.  As a home school workshop leader, I put together a free web page to answer questions like yours  How To Home School

mem82
by Platinum Member on Sep. 10, 2013 at 6:46 AM
I have started at different ages depending on the child. At 4,so much learning can be done with guided play. 8) welcome to homeschooling!
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Sep. 10, 2013 at 6:55 PM

I started my youngest at age 5. If I could go back and do it all over again, I would have waited a little later to start formal education. Check your homeschool laws and contact HSLDA. Then learn your childs learning style and decide on your curriculum, unless you unschool. Just have fun with him for now!

megthompson920
by on Sep. 10, 2013 at 10:05 PM