Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Things I learned my first week

Okay I am no expert far from it actually this is my first year (was my first week) but I learned a few things...might be doing it "wrong" but it worked for my DS (grade 3) in no order

1. Having music playing in the back ground helps

2. I plan the lesson plan but letting him decide what order we do it in works wonders.

3. He is more comfortable on the couch with a tv tray (work station) then on the ground by the coffee table (dont have a dinning room table)

4. Crumpling up the sticky notes that have each subject on  them is theaputic.

5. I have to win the battle of wills.

So that is my first week...starting my second week tommrow...he is SO EXCITED to do the "selfie" (self portate ((spelling??))

by on Sep. 16, 2013 at 1:27 AM
Replies (11-20):
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Sep. 16, 2013 at 11:18 AM
I've been doing this for 7 years, and I'm still learning new things about how to do this! Right now I'm learning how to best allow my 7th grader to work independently while providing the right amount of oversight. Momma's having trouble not hovering lol.
usmom3
by BJ on Sep. 16, 2013 at 11:27 AM

If that is what is working for the 2 of you then you are doing it exactly right for you & him. I hope the weeks just keep getting better for you.

coala
by Silver Member on Sep. 16, 2013 at 11:49 AM

I love the sticky note idea....my girls like to remove paper clips.  I'm not sure what is theraputic about it, but whatever works.

fairymom82
by on Sep. 16, 2013 at 3:09 PM

This has been a very tough week for us. We have had struggles with tantrums and procrastination. Glad something worked for you. 

Connorsmommy13
by Member on Sep. 16, 2013 at 3:42 PM

Quoting fairymom82: