Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I have decided to homeschool

Posted by on Sep. 17, 2013 at 8:59 AM
  • 9 Replies

My oldest daughter Haley will be 5 in November and I have decided that I want to homeschool her. I have read up on some forms of homeschooling but I'm a rookie at this so I am going to need some direction here. What do I need to do? I am ready to start homeschooling.

by on Sep. 17, 2013 at 8:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
mamamedic69
by Deanna on Sep. 17, 2013 at 9:08 AM
Congrats on your decision to homeschool. First I would read the laws in your state to make sure you're doing everything legal.

Then I would try and figure out how your child learns. Some are visual leaders and others are auditory learners. (There is a couple of other types but I just can't remember).

Then find what works for your family. Some make there own lesson plans and others use full pre built curriculums.

I know others would have some suggestions. This is my first year and this is what I have learned from this group.

Good luck mama.
coala
by Silver Member on Sep. 17, 2013 at 9:34 AM
2 moms liked this

We are beginning our second full year.  Just remember to be patient and go with the flow.  Not all days will be productive and just about anything can be counted as learning.  Currenly my children are in their bedroom playing school with their stuffed animals.  The animals are learning some Geography....we've been learning about the states.  This is them showing me what they have learned....without me having to quiz them.  LOL

1CynfulDlite
by on Sep. 17, 2013 at 9:50 AM