Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Do you add stuff or am I alone?

Posted by on Sep. 19, 2013 at 12:14 PM
  • 23 Replies
1 mom liked this

Poll

Question: Do you let your kids learn more?

Options:

Heck Yeah more the better

Depends

No

My kid has never asked to do more

I don't follow any sort of plan that follows the public school

Purple fuzzy unicorns

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 31

View Results

Its my first year homeschooling my son is in grade 3 and we are in Canada, I am following the PLO (Provincal Learning outcome) so that he will at least learn everything else that they learn in Grade 3 in school...thing is he wants to learn MORE....he wants to learn about the underground Railroad...so we are going to learn about that, and connect it to his geography and mapping skills and into Canada history. Same with WW2 again, geography, Canada history, and mapping. I have teacher friends that say I am dumb to do that...that I should only stick with what other grade 3s are learning...

WHY??? If he wants to learn more and I can connect it why shouldnt he learn more???

by on Sep. 19, 2013 at 12:14 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
rcmama122
by New Member on Sep. 19, 2013 at 12:21 PM
2 moms liked this

Why would more knowledge be a bad thing? He is asking to learn more! What a great thing!

debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Sep. 19, 2013 at 12:28 PM

If my kids ask about it, we learn about it.  We have looked up dinosaurs, presidents, words, sea animals, things from history.  Speaking of history I still need to look up some facts I did not know about 9/11.  Everything they ask and want to know about is discussed and looked up.  I do not see how that is bad.  They actually learn more that way and remember things than when we are just studying them.

kirbymom