Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

homeschooling in Oklahoma. I'm new to this

Posted by   + Show Post

Ok so my children are all in public school.  My daughter has severe ADHD and we do not want to medicate her (we tried some different meds and they all made her zombie like...) The teacher sends home notes a lot.  Anyway, it is very difficult for her to learn, especially in such a social setting so I am considering homeschooling her.  In fact I'm about 99.9 percent sure it will happen in 1st grade.

I might wait until she gets into first grade and just start there or I may pull her out this school year.   

Do you live in Oklahoma?  What are the steps I need to take to begin our homeschooling journey? I mean do I have to go somewhere or fill out paperwork or do I just take her home from school and never take her back.  lol.  I do not know what I am doing as far as this part goes! 

by on Sep. 24, 2013 at 6:44 PM
Replies (11-18):
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Sep. 25, 2013 at 11:42 AM

Oklahoma is known as the most homeschool friendly state in the US. Just withdraw her from school and that's it.

LilrockerMama
by on Sep. 25, 2013 at 12:22 PM
Well make sure you put your info and stuff in the letter before you print it lol. But yeah by them I mean the school and like I said I just gave it to the principal. No problem! Where in Okla are you?

Quoting Mweddle:

Thanks!  Them as in just the school, right? Thanks for the link too! I'm going to go ahead and print that now.

Quoting LilrockerMama:

There's a website that I can't remember the name of, it had a paper that stated I was pulling so and so out and according to Oklahoma law whatever whatever and all that and I gave it to the principal and never took him back. I started this January and there's really no laws regulating it here. You have to notify them though if they've already started

romacox