Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Experts.... ???

Posted by on Oct. 3, 2013 at 8:43 PM
  • 34 Replies
Just looking to see what other people's opinions are....

What is an expert and what do they do?

What makes them an expert?

undefined

by on Oct. 3, 2013 at 8:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
usmom3
by BJ on Oct. 3, 2013 at 9:03 PM
1 mom liked this

I believe that an expert is a person highly skilled in something. It dose not have to be their career or part of their field of work. Just something they are well versed in & have spent great amount of time on, even if all of their education on the subject is self taught. 

bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Oct. 3, 2013 at 9:11 PM
2 moms liked this

I hate the term expert.  Believing in an expert that has all the answers makes us stop thinking for ourselves.  I instead believe there are many people out there with knowledge on a topic, and that they can impart their informed opinion and the facts they have gathered to help others learn about a topic.  They become informed by reading or learning about a topic and they are humble enough to understand that they still don't know it all.

kirbymom
by Sonja on Oct. 3, 2013 at 9:32 PM
I love the last part of your post! It is so true.

Quoting usmom3:

I believe that an expert is a person highly skilled in something. It dose not have to be their career or part of their field of work. Just something they are well versed in & have spent great amount of time on, even if all of their education on the subject is self taught. 

kirbymom
by Sonja on Oct. 3, 2013 at 9:42 PM
And this is where I am going. Who is a better expert on children than a parent?
Why do so many people listen to so called experts about families or about children or about education?

Quoting bluerooffarm: