Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Reading Eggs is offering a FREE 4-week trial of their multi-award winning online reading program for homeschoolers!

Posted by on Oct. 24, 2013 at 8:43 PM
BJ
  • 6 Replies
1 mom liked this

Find out more --> www.readingeggs.com/fhd

by on Oct. 24, 2013 at 8:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
101stwife
by Member on Oct. 24, 2013 at 10:20 PM

Wow great site! Thanks! I just signed up and my dd did 2 lessons right away. She loves it!!

usmom3
by BJ on Oct. 24, 2013 at 10:52 PM

That is wonderful!

Quoting 101stwife:

Wow great site! Thanks! I just signed up and my dd did 2 lessons right away. She loves it!!

romacox
by Silver Member on Oct. 25, 2013 at 7:24 AM

As a tutor I am given the children who are struggling with reading.  There are several reasons children are poor readers, but the most common one is that computers teach some of the sounds incorrectly.  For example : they teach h as hu, and p as pu.  We to not say hu-a-pu-y for happy. 

Computer games are great for many things, but not for teaching phonics.  It is important that you the educator teach that so as to make sure they are getting the basics correctly 

Hear Phonic Sounds Free

paganbaby
by Silver Member on Oct. 25, 2013 at 10:46 AM

Thanks!

paganbaby
by Silver Member on Oct. 25, 2013 at 10:47 AM

That's why you teach blending and stretching out the words.

Quoting romacox:

As a tutor I am given the children who are struggling with reading.  There are several reasons children are poor readers, but the most common one is that computers teach some of the sounds incorrectly.  For example : they teach h as hu, and p as pu.  We to not say hu-a-pu-y for happy.