Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

hi Im new with a few questions

Posted by on Nov. 7, 2013 at 8:02 PM
  • 10 Replies

First I want to introduce myself. Im Tanisha mother of two little ones. My dd is turning three on the 20th and I recently gave birth to my three month old ds. Im currently doing a basic structured play with my dd until I start our kindergarten curriculum when shes 4.I wanted to drop in with a question concerning her pronounciations. For one thing she is not speaking in complete sentences yet. She says hi mommy, hi daddy, I cant do it, I did it, look mommy, I pee pee mommy, and thats about it. Ironically she does have a very extensive vocabulary. She knows all her letters, coumts to twenty, knows all her colors, all her shapes including star, pentagon, hexagon, and etc, her farm animals and some wild, like lion, tiger, zebra, bird, frog, snake,elephant etc. she knows quite a few house items, we're currently working on letters and numbers in sign language, I honestly feel shes flourishing very well however her pronounciations bothers me. Some examples are orange =orige ,    black =back,      four=bore,      yellow=rello, juice =jew and others. A lot of times it sounds like she pronounces the beginning and end of the word. Me and her father are able to understand a lot of what she says. When with others they are able to understand what she says when she points to it. She is not saying her name either when asked. she will tell us her age but not others. She still does a whole lot of babbling as if shes caring on a conversation with herself. Does anyone have any suggestions or games for improving these things? Is this typical for her age? Im also trying to get her to understand the difference between yes and no she says no to everything but juice lol juice she'll nod to or say ye or yeah but never completely pronounces the word yes.