Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

literacy through the arts: innovative way to improve reading fluency

Posted by on Nov. 13, 2013 at 8:35 PM
  • 7 Replies
1 mom liked this

This will surely interest homeschoolers and those interested in innovative education.

This information is from Beth Sussman:

I can pick out the weak readers in a class in about 30 seconds.....

As a Master Teaching Artist with the Los Angeles Music Center, I have been presenting artist in residency programs throughout Southern California for the past decade.  Simply put, I generally go out to a school 10 times and see 4-5 classes in a day.  As a Juilliard graduate, I use (mainly) classical music to teach, in a fun and hands on way, some of the more abstract concepts such as main idea, comparing and contrasting, author's purpose, etc.  I call it covert learning, because the kids are having so much fun, they don't realize they're learning something!  (Shhhh!)

Several years ago, teachers started telling me about how their elementary school students' reading fluency was going through the roof and that it had to be a result of my work.  These teachers explained that their curriculum was the same in previous years, but without this fantastic result, and so  I had to figure out why.   It turns out that steady beat - that pulse that some music has that makes you want to tap your toes or clap your hands- has a direct correlation to reading fluency and therefore, comprehension.  Wow!!

I came across several academic and scientific articles supporting this and a very recent article in the Journal of Neuroscience supports this as well. Here's a link to an LA Times article describing the study.
lat.ms/1dpSYdH