Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

How do you handle your academic shortcomings?

Posted by on Jan. 12, 2014 at 12:27 PM
  • 7 Replies

Im not very good at math. It was always a struggle for me in school. I know know I had a learning disability, but during the 70s when I was in school it wasnt diagnosed. We moved around a lot and I didnt really stay in one district for long. Sometimes the District was doing something completely new, and I was behind. other times, they were reviewing somthing I had already learned and I was bored. I am a smart person, so I was able to catch on, but I developed my own way, and not the way things were taught, or even taught today in schools. 

I am a college graduate with a masters degree, so Im no dummy, lol... 

So, that being said, How do you overcome your shortcomings? How will I teach math to my 7 year old (2nd grade) when I can barely do it. LOL. How will I make sure he gets a good education and goes to college? 

100 percent of HS graduates in my town go on to higher education. 

Im begining to consider homeschooling, and this is one of my fears. 

Thanks for the information. 

by on Jan. 12, 2014 at 12:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
CowgirlMama0508
by Tasha on Jan. 12, 2014 at 12:32 PM
1 mom liked this
I'm not homeschooling yet (plan to start this fall) but I know most curriculum you can buy has the option of buying the teaching manual also. and in those they explain how to teach that particular problem. I have the same anxiety about language arts so your not alone. good luck mama!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Jan. 12, 2014 at 12:36 PM
Find a Co-op or tutor that can help also you yourself can look into khan academy to teach you and you can use it with your son as well.