Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Kindergarten age

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 8:23 AM
  • 22 Replies

I'm new to homeschooling, and have started some preschool soon to be kindergarten work with my five year old. We live in Indiana and the hs laws here are pretty lax. I'm just lost, there's so many options on curriculum and I feel so overwhelmed at the prospect of teaching her all she needs to know. I feel like I leaning towards work sheets and small books, but no set pre bought curriculum for kindergarten. I've bought the "101 top picks" of hs curriculum... Still trying to read through it. Any advice out there on kindergarten homeschooling, or any helpful links would be appreciated! 

by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 8:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
paganbaby
by Silver Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 11:26 AM
1 mom liked this

I don't have a lot of experience with kinder. I didn't pull my ds out until 1st.

For that age, I would keep it fun and simple. Lots of games (counting/reading games) coloring, reading, educational shows, cooking. Worksheets if she likes them. My youngest dd LOVES worksheets, my ds HATES them so just go with her lead on that.

Really it just depends on your dd, whether or not you take a more relaxed approach or a more structured one.

bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 11:49 AM
2 moms liked this

Kindergarten around here in the Public schools is simply preparation for first grade..... Getting them sitting for lessons, rhyming, figuring out beginning sounds and ending sounds, using the letter sounds to begin reading, the more complex shapes (octagons, hexagons, etc), counting to 100, skip counting, simple addition (to about 10), listening to longer stories, listening to stories that can't be finished in one sitting (chapter books) and remembering yesterday's portion...