Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I'm new to homeschooling, and have started some preschool soon to be kindergarten work with my five year old. We live in Indiana and the hs laws here are pretty lax. I'm just lost, there's so many options on curriculum and I feel so overwhelmed at the prospect of teaching her all she needs to know. I feel like I leaning towards work sheets and small books, but no set pre bought curriculum for kindergarten. I've bought the "101 top picks" of hs curriculum... Still trying to read through it. Any advice out there on kindergarten homeschooling, or any helpful links would be appreciated! 

by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 8:23 AM
Replies (11-20):
julesjerry
by Bronze Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 6:27 PM

Like other members said, keep it simple, fun. Below links may give an idea.

http://wp.me/p3wWiR-13  --  kindergarten curriculum

http://wp.me/p3wWiR-19    -- supplements

http://wp.me/p3wWiR-1k  -- science experiments list

http://wp.me/p3wWiR-u   - word list

http://wp.me/p3wWiR-j  - lesson for 4-5year old

katyq
by Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 6:34 PM

My son is 3.5 but I do already have kindergarten pretty well planned :p. We will use singapore math and phonics pathways and beyond that, I will cover science,history,  lit, art, p.e., music, etc with individual units that I have bought and/or a curriculum that I develop. I am planning on doing pretty much the same with first grade as well. You don't need a worksheet or textbook for every subject at that age. I hope this helps a bit and good luck :)

torilee03
by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 7:03 PM