Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Struggling with Phonics

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 1:35 PM
  • 18 Replies

Was wondering if anyone could tell me the best resources for teaching phonics. This is my first year homeschooling my girls. One is in Kindergarten, the other in the 2nd grade. My kindergartener seems to be really struggling with sounding out words. She knows all of her letter sounds, but it's the putting them all together to make a word that seems to confuse her. We have tried ABCMouse.com and Starfall for extra support, but I find that she considers that more "playing" and doesn't really focus on what she is trying to accomplish. Just wondering what worked best for other moms. :)

by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 1:35 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 2:01 PM
Have you tried getting one of those plastic phone looking things they have at lakeshore. The child speaker the sounds into the part that goes to the mouth. And it is magnified in their ears. It is suppose to help them hear it better.

I know my 7 year old had a problem with this and it took lots of tears and repeating things. Wish I would have bought the phone thing.
ablackdolphin
by Bronze Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 4:56 PM
Ooka Island is a great computer game and reading eggs is good too. I am also loving All About Reading so far there is a free phonogram app right now from all about spelling
ablackdolphin
by Bronze Member on Jan. 27, 2014 at 4:57 PM
Sorry its All About Spelling we are using
KickButtMama
by Shannon on Jan. 27, 2014 at 5:22 PM

We enjoyed readingeggs.com - it's a little pricey in my opinion, but my kids loved it and phonics finally clicked for them.

torilee03
by on Jan. 27, 2014 at 5:59 PM

Thanks ladies!! I will look into those! :)

romacox