Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Finding their Motivation

Posted by on Feb. 1, 2014 at 12:33 AM
  • 7 Replies

I am new to home schooling - at least officially:-)  I have 6.5 year old twin girls in the 1st grade.  We just pulled out of school in early December.

I am really struggling finding what motivates them to get their work done.  It is taking absolutely forever.  We spend an hour on something that should take 20 minutes - and that's with constant attention and prompting.

When they aren't in "school", they are playing with each other, playing with their animals, reading, reading some more, and then reading again.  They don't play video games and tv comes and goes.  There are days they don't watch any at all - sometimes for days in a row.  Then there are some days they will watch a couple of  "kid's shows".  We do sometimes watch things together during lunch (like an animal show) and sometimes I pick shows deliberately (like History's What the Ancient's Knew).  But, bottom line, they aren't trying to get out of work so they can stare at the tv or play video games.  They just want to play - indoors or out if it's nice - and read and read and read.

So, how do you find their school currency?  About the only thing we can take away that seems to seriously motivate them is taking away reading at bedtime which I really don't like to do.

What kind of incentives or positive rewards or whatever do you use to get your kids going?  I need all the help I can get!

ps - We are pretty sure Natalie has ADD if that informs your comments at all.

Thanks!

by on Feb. 1, 2014 at 12:33 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
KrissyKC
by Silver Member on Feb. 1, 2014 at 1:10 AM