Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

what subjects?

Posted by on Feb. 2, 2014 at 8:04 PM
  • 11 Replies
hey! im new to all this & was wondering exactly what subjects get taught in what grade...I'll have a 1st & 3rd grader this fall. thanks!!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 2, 2014 at 8:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Feb. 2, 2014 at 8:10 PM
We teach math, lit, spelling, handwriting, science and history. My kids are 1st and 2nd. But I am planning the same subjects for next year.
Codysmom2106
by Member on Feb. 2, 2014 at 8:13 PM
I have a second grader. We do math, science, language arts, and social studies. Next year we will add Spanish.
kmath
by Silver Member on Feb. 2, 2014 at 8:20 PM

You can get the book Home Learning Year by Year by Rebecca Rupp.  It gives an overview of what a child should learn each year and gives you ideas for teaching them.  I use it as a kind of guideline, but I don't worry if he doesn't learn everything she says he should.  He is in 2nd and we are doing Math, LA (grammar, phonics, handwriting, and reading), science, social studies, history, Spanish and Computer Science (we did typing first and now we are working on programming).  I tend to go with things he likes and follow his lead on most things.

bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Feb. 3, 2014 at 9:52 AM

Remember to go to your state's laws.  My state asks for certain subjects to be taught in certain grade levels.

For first grade: Daily is Phonics, handwriting, language arts, and math. 2x's a week is History, Science, and Geography.  Once a week is Social Studies, health and safety, art, and music.