Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Beginning of "homeschooling"

Posted by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 12:12 AM
  • 21 Replies

I am completely new to all of this and did not grow up homeschooled. I went to Public school. My hubby grew up homeschooled and would like our kids homeschooled preferrably. I will use "homeschooling" EXTREMELY lightly right now as my son is only 21 months old. lol I am pregnant with our 2nd kid - due June 3rd. So my plan is to put together an organized system of some sort (thinking of doing it in packets - so somewhat similar to activity packs) that I can use each week/day with my son come Fall. He'll be almost 2.5 then and I'll be taking care of a newborn. So my thought is that this is going to help give my son something structured and something I can hopefully have him work on while I'm nursing or needing to attend to our baby. I found a free curriculum for 2 year olds through ABC Jesus Loves Me that I'm planning on using.

Any tips or suggestions you can give me would be great. :)

by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 12:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jojo1974
by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 1:57 AM
1 mom liked this

Honestly, I'm not sure I get "homeschooling" toddlers.  I think you can be intentional about learning and give children lots of opportunities to learn, but I'm not sure I understand the idea of curriculum or anything close to it for a child under 5.

Obviously, you want to be sure that they are learning letters, numbers, colors, shapes, etc., but I guess I feel that is such an organic process if you are reading books, playing with puzzles and blocks, coloring and basically just being a kid.