Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

School phobia?

Posted by on Mar. 25, 2014 at 3:03 AM
  • 23 Replies

Does anyone here homeschool because their child has school phobia or anxiety? My daughter has Separation Anxiety Disorder and I have been homeschooling her on and off for the past 5 years.

cat

by on Mar. 25, 2014 at 3:03 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Mar. 25, 2014 at 8:50 AM

I'm not sure if I would label it a phobia, but my oldest son as we ride past the local elementary school still (after 3 years of homeschooling) says "I hate that place."

paganbaby
by Silver Member on Mar. 25, 2014 at 10:36 AM

My 9yo ds and I have it. Another reason I pulled him out so he wouldn't be scarred the same way I was. For me it was bad. I couldn't walk past a high school without hyperventilating until I was in my 20's. The nightmares stopped about that age too.

paganbaby
by Silver Member on Mar. 25, 2014 at 10:36 AM

When you say on and off, did you try PS a few times with her?

kirbymom
by Sonja on Mar. 25, 2014 at 11:12 AM
I used to have an anxiety that kept me from being able to speak or move if I got too anxious about something. I couldn't even meet new people without breaking out in a cold sweat something fierce and crying like I was about to die. It has eased some over the years.
Silverkitty
by Bronze Member on Mar. 25, 2014 at 11:32 AM

My daughter never wanted to go to school.  That is one reason.  After homeschooling for a while I found out anything that puts pressure on her gives her anxiety.  We have slowly been doing more things to help her.  Now she has a writing phobia or disgraphia, not sure which, but we are working on that now.

usmom3
by BJ on Mar. 25, 2014 at 4:40 PM