Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Does anyone here homeschool because their child has school phobia or anxiety? My daughter has Separation Anxiety Disorder and I have been homeschooling her on and off for the past 5 years.

cat

by on Mar. 25, 2014 at 3:03 AM
Replies (11-20):
collinsmommy0
by Member on Mar. 26, 2014 at 12:17 AM
I'm not really helpful since my oldest is almost 3, but he seems more anxious then other kids his age seem...,,I can't imagine dropping him off at a program, even for an hour, because he would probably not participate at all. (We are in a parent participation gymnastics class of 4 kids & it took him about 2 months to be willing to be more than a few feet away from me during the class). He seems to have general anxiety, but definitely to anything with more than 1-2 kids
KrissyKC
by Silver Member on Mar. 26, 2014 at 12:22 AM
My eldest had suicidal comments/thoughts at 7 Because of stress in public school. It was like the kick in the pants we needed.
JJsbabygirl
by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 1:58 AM

Yes....I sent her to kindergarten...it was horrible. Then we tried 1st grade for about 4 months...left and did homeschool....continued hs for 2nd grade. Then went to a new school for third with an IEP in place and did well. Did 4 th grade ok ( couple issues). And now back to hs for 5th.

Quoting paganbaby:

When you say on and off, did you try PS a few times with her?

cat

IslandGirl1013
by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 2:09 AM