Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Transitioning back for High School- ideas?

Posted by on Apr. 14, 2014 at 8:32 PM
  • 9 Replies

Hi, I've been schooling my kids at home for the past 6 years. My boys are 14 and moving on to high school next year. I will still have my 11 year old daughter at home but this is going to be a HUGE adjustment. I most afraid of the homework. They will both be in AP classes from the get-go. I have always been very careful about the type of work I assign or that we explore together. They hate busy-work, textbooks and worksheets. Both of them are very self-motivated when their imagination is sparked, especially in science. I am really concerend they are going to be inundated with hours of homework... I would keep them home if I thought it would work but they are both advanced way beyond what I can do at home- they need real science labs and math that is more than I can provide. They will be at a regular HS for one year then transferring to a new STEM HS their sophmore year (it's not opening until Fall 2015). That HS will be more attuned to their interests and abilities...we just have to make it through a year. Anyone have experience in this area?

by on Apr. 14, 2014 at 8:32 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Bleacheddecay
by Bronze Member on Apr. 14, 2014 at 9:10 PM

No but I'd say lot's of homework is to be expected with AP courses and public school in general. Good luck!

I'd rather send them to community college personally or other places that could teach them these things if I felt I couldn't.

mem82
by Platinum Member on Apr. 14, 2014 at 9:13 PM

They really need to prepare themselves for what lies ahead. I think it's going to be a really hard adjustment. Good luck!

paganbaby
by Silver Member on Apr. 14, 2014 at 11:34 PM