Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Yearly Testing..............

Posted by on May. 8, 2014 at 9:54 PM
  • 9 Replies
Where we live it is required that we do yearly testing. We have to test and submit to the district by July 1st. What nationally recognized test do you prefer to use??? Any advice or tips for testing would be appreciated! Thanks in advance~ :-)
by on May. 8, 2014 at 9:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
hwblyf
by Silver Member on May. 8, 2014 at 10:01 PM

This year we did the ITBS.  He passed, so I guess it wasn't horrible for us.  :)  I did look at some of the questions and start to freak, however.  Good for me, give me an idea of the things I'm neglecting.

BellaRose17
by Member on May. 8, 2014 at 10:02 PM

I'm a newbie, myself, so here is a *bump*!

I'd love to read everyone's responses. In New York annual testing is also required...although from what I've read it is only required for grades 4 and up so it doesn't apply to my first graders yet. =)

NYCitymomx3
by Bronze Member on May. 8, 2014 at 10:24 PM

Quoting BellaRose17:

I'd love to read everyone's responses. In New York annual testing is also required...although from what I've read it is only required for grades 4 and up so it doesn't apply to my first graders yet. =)

In NY, most of us do testing in 5th and 7th only, then every year in high school.  You could do 4th, 6th, & 8th if you prefer, but I'm not one for more tests.  

I give my kids the CAT-E that I get from Seton Testing.  

Angela

dd(20) Hair Stylist in Manhattan
dd(17) Dancer at the (real) Fame school
ds(13) Martial artist & experiential homeschooler

Codysmom2106
by Member on May. 8, 2014 at 10:51 PM

We are required to do yearly testing in nc. The company we Re going through use woodcock-Johnson III? This is our first year so hopefully it will work out well.