Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

United States History Curriculum?

Posted by   + Show Post

In New York, 1st graders are required to be taught not just history but specifically United States history.

I don't have a problem with this, obviously. It's wonderful to learn about our country. The problem I am having is that I can't seem to find any curriculum that fits their learning level.

I could always just put a lesson plan together from scratch, using different historical story books and things like that, but I would prefer to have a solid reference as a starting point. (Since I'm a homeschool novice and all)

The only thing that I have found is from A Beka Book: My America and My World.

Does anyone have any experience with that book? I was excited about it until I came across a review that mentioned something about the A Beka history books presenting the Bible as fact and I was hoping for something secular. (To be clear I'm not anti-Bible or anything, I'm actually Catholic lol)

Any recommendations on places to look for some sort of US history textbook to use as a starting point?

Thanks! :)

by on May. 8, 2014 at 10:20 PM
Replies (11-20):
BellaRose17
by Member on May. 9, 2014 at 4:11 PM

Quoting KrissyKC: First grade american history? That is an early requirement. Um...log onto a site like homeschoolreviews.com and search reviews there according to subject.

That's exactly what I thought! They don't even have US specific history at the public school until the later grades. But, I've heard New York isn't very homeschool friendly so maybe this is their way of making things more difficult Lol.

BellaRose17
by Member on May. 9, 2014 at 4:15 PM

That's a good idea! All I really would like the textbook for is to use it as a guide to structure their lessons, so an older child's textbook could easily serve that purpose. Thank you :) 

Quoting Bluerose1482: