Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

ABeka?

Posted by on May. 12, 2014 at 12:17 AM
  • 24 Replies
Hello everyone:)
I'm very new to the homeschooling world. We will be starting the next school year. I have been researching curriculums for about 5 months now. I am sure we decided on ABeka. I was wondering what you ladies thought of them?
by on May. 12, 2014 at 12:17 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JadeTigr7
by Member on May. 12, 2014 at 12:34 AM

I use Abeka for Language Arts, Writing and Arithmetic for most of my kids.  I like the structure of the program.  I did feel that their history and science was too weak, and their Bible program was too expensive, and not as lenient in teaching different variations for different denominations.  So I added My Father's World curriculum for Bible, History, Science, Art and Music.

bcogoli
by Member on May. 12, 2014 at 6:43 AM

I looked into it and I liked some parts of it and not others. My son has autism so I wanted to pick a complete curriculum so it is more consistent for him. I ultimately went with Landmark but I do wish I could have used the Abeka language arts.

melindabelcher
by Mel on May. 12, 2014 at 6:55 AM
I grew up on abeka and me and my sister excelled in it. One of my brothers failed the program and the other one barely passed and it was a huge struggle. My mom regretts using the program for homeschooling and had much better overall success in later years when she switched programs.
Its much to regimented and isn't flexible enough for me to use. It focuses on way to much paperwork/sitting and isnt engaging enough to work for us. We use and love sonlight!! :)
energygirl
by Member on May. 12, 2014 at 9:17 AM