Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

1st Grade Curriculum

Posted by on Jul. 22, 2014 at 7:05 PM
  • 18 Replies

My state requires you to use a tangible curriculum (can be books, videos, or computer programs...or paid tutoring but I'm not doing that) in Good citizenship, math, reading, spelling and grammar.  I want one anywas because I'm new at this.What first grade curriculum do you/did you use (for any or all of these--but please specify, thanks).

And if you have time to asnwer a few more questions about the curriculum , I'm wondering...

What materials does it use/include (textbooks, lesson plans, videos, workbooks, online games, etc?)

If it has lesson plans, does it include creative ideas (games, pretend play, tactile projects)?

Is this more on the rigorous/academic/challenging or gentle/play-based/approachable side?

UPDATE:  

I just wanted to thank all of you who responded...you're answers are helping so much.  Several askedwhat "good citizenship" means.  I am not even quite sure myself.  The law doesn't go into specifics so I'm assuming it's learning about things like voting, and obeying the law, and such.  

by on Jul. 22, 2014 at 7:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jul. 22, 2014 at 7:17 PM
1 mom liked this

For math we used Math U See Alpha with Life of Fred for a supplement.  We love MUS.  It has great manipulatives, a DVD with the lessons taught by Steve Demme if you get stuck on something, and a very visual/hands-on way of teaching math.  Life of Fred is a fun supplement math story that teaches some higher level math vocabulary and makes math more like play.  It is really nice as a day when we really need a break from math because there really shouldn't be a break from math.