Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

If this is your first year home schooling... ?

Posted by on Aug. 27, 2014 at 1:19 PM
  • 27 Replies
1 mom liked this

What made you decide to do it?

by on Aug. 27, 2014 at 1:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
kirbymom
by Sonja on Aug. 27, 2014 at 5:40 PM
While this isn't my first year homeschooling, it is my first year homeschooling through the year. :)
I went this route to see if the kids did better learning by changing how we did school, shorter, more frequent breaks with longer terms and a more laid back approach.
Jinx-Troublex3
by Jinx on Aug. 27, 2014 at 9:48 PM
This is our 8th year....

DS1 was bullied and beat up several times and the school refused to do anything.

DS2 has a learning disability that the school refused to acknowledge existed and labeled him a behabior problem. Because I worked with him 1-2 hrs per night at home he didnt test low enough to get in school services. They required him to be at minimum 1 year behind grade level and I could see no reason to let that happen and then try to play catchup.
Leissaintexas
by Bronze Member on Aug. 28, 2014 at 9:38 AM
Not my first year, (actually my 8th) but we chose homeschooling for many reasons that all boil down to our desire to take back our parental authority and educate our own children instead of putting them in a system that undermines our religious convictions.
Decemberlov
by Member on Aug. 28, 2014 at 12:46 PM

I think I could write a novel on this lol. I'll just list some of the key reasons:

- My daughter has TS, ADD & OCD - she needs more one on one attention that the school can provide. She's too far advanced for special ed. but has a hard time keeping up in the regular classes with 20+ kids.

- She's been bullied because of her TS