Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

how many hours a day?

Posted by on Sep. 25, 2015 at 9:45 AM
  • 9 Replies
Sorry if this has been asked before but how many hours a day do you typically devote to homeschooling?

I'm a bus driver for our public schools and I have a dedicated route that I do every day so I have settimes I have during the day that is for free time. I'm normally home from my route by 9:10. And I need to leave for the after noon no later than 2:15. My two youngest kids nap from about 945/10 until 1/130. So during that nap time is when I'd be able to devote my time to teaching and schooling. Does that sound like enough time? My daughter has ADHD so I feel like a shorter day would benefit her some.
by on Sep. 25, 2015 at 9:45 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
debramommyof4
by Group Admin on Sep. 25, 2015 at 10:17 AM
1 mom liked this
It depends on the child and grade.

My kindergartener would school all day. However we really only work about an hour.

My first grader works about 2 hours and that is pushing it with him.

My 3rd grader works about 4 hours but if we dint have to work to redo reading it would only be about 3.

My 4th grader works about 6 hours but she is working for the most part at about a 5th to 6th grade level so she has a bit more work. I do not see us ever going over 6 hours and those times include breaks and lunch.

We work from 9-3 most days depending on the child and not all of that is me setting and teaching. It is me explaining then moving to the next child and when they are done they come get me and we grade the work together to see how they are doing then review as needed or move on. I dedicate a full hour to my little one then if she still wants school she gets her own worksheets to work on while I work with everyone else.
LostTheSlipper
by Group Admin on Sep. 25, 2015 at 11:54 AM