Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Programs...

Posted by on Oct. 29, 2015 at 9:43 PM
  • 11 Replies
What programs does everyone suggest for kindergarten? I'm new to homeschooling and feeling a little crazy with all of the info out there. Thank you!
by on Oct. 29, 2015 at 9:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
LostTheSlipper
by Group Admin on Oct. 29, 2015 at 9:52 PM
2 moms liked this

K is a fun year (which sadly I didn't get to do.) Personally I wouldn't go with anything specific. Just teach the letters and their sounds, basic math concepts, read lots of books, and add lots of fun hands-on stuff.

collinsmommy0
by Kim on Oct. 29, 2015 at 10:47 PM
1 mom liked this
My plan for kinder is all about reading for reading/phonics, and possibly a math program (not sure what I will use yet - both Singapore & Saxon are on my list to research). Also, I recommend handwriting without tears for learning how to write letters. I'm planning on doing the rest by my child's interest (social studies, science, art, music) & possibly getting either green kids craft boxes or magic school bus subs option for science projects.
Bethbeth
by Member on Oct. 30, 2015 at 12:12 AM
1 mom liked this

I am teaching K this year. We are using 

All About Reading Level 1 

Horizons Math

Handwriting Without Tears

It depends on your kid though. My kid already knew all her letters, sounds, and basic addition when we started Kindergarten. My next kids, we may have a lot less "curriculum" for Kindergarten because I don't think they will be ready. We'll see though. :)

NYCitymomx3
by Bronze Member on Oct. 30, 2015 at 12:40 PM
2 moms liked this

I love the Charlotte Mason approach to homeschooling.  Ambleside Online has a wonderful guideline for Kindergarteners.  It was my favorite curriculum.

No_Difference
by Silver Member on Oct. 30, 2015 at 1:23 PM
1 mom liked this