Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Ok. Newbie here, please read

Posted by on Oct. 17, 2017 at 9:23 AM
  • 6 Replies
Okay! Here we go. I have so many questions, concerns, and more. I am hoping this can help me out some. And I apologize if I am all over the place.

It has not been long but for the past week or two I have been doing VERY serious consideration for homeschool. I do not know much still. I have looked up various laws and such but still need more information.

I live in Maine.
I have a 8 year old son in 3rd grade public school. It has been a nightmare. His entire school career thus far. He has very "mild" aspergers. Shows 100 percent every sign for ADHD but it is not ADHD. We think it more along the lines of a vestibular sensory issue. So my kid. Super smart. But he cannot and will not sit down. School has been rough. He is right on the cusp of needed help with special ed but at the same time every one agrees putting him in that class would not help. I do not know. On top of this, our current school system is hell. Omg, torture. You have no idea the things we have been put through just for some help. This school is a joke and I just cannot stomach sending him here any longer. Its been rough and every part of my body wants to melt when I think about continuing this for any longer. Just some background info.

I have always wanted to homeschool. Long before school days started. I am your fairly typical crunchy mom in most aspects of life. This was something I wanted to do but never did. Mostly of out fear of the unknown.

My concerns are worries:

• I won't be able to teach him everything he needs to know and he won't be able to graduate.