Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Introducing myself

Posted by on Mar. 13, 2018 at 2:38 PM
  • 7 Replies

Hi, my names Evelyn and I live in SW Missouri. Technically
I am not a homeschool mom. I am a nanny/homeschool teacher. The two children I take care of have been removed from school because of learning and anger issues(for one). One is nine and the other is eight. The boy has difficulties in reading and does very well in math and science. He is on a first grade reading level just barely.  The girl is almost on 2n/3rd grade and is a little behind on math but not much. She is the one who has anger issues and sometimes refuses to do her work.

I've worked with younger children and have my associates degree in early childhood development and have did childcare in one type of setting or another for over 40 years. I did nanny/homeschooling for almost ten years for a set of twins  also but its been nearly 20 years ago so a lot has changed.Plus raising my ADHD daughter and now raising my  granddaughter.

Any information help and support would be appreciated.

by on Mar. 13, 2018 at 2:38 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
Scribbleprints
by Group Admin on Mar. 13, 2018 at 10:08 PM

Hi!   Welcome to the group!

So, do the parents curriculum you are helping them teach, or are you just watching them and they are doing the majority of the teaching? 

kuntrylady56
by New Member on Mar. 14, 2018 at 1:11 PM

I do the teaching. But the grandmother who is raising the children has the work books the I pull their weekely work sheets out of on each subject. But I set up the weekly curriculumn plan and whatever else we are working on. And we have a theme, for example we're working on Spring so everything ties into that in one way or the other. I mainly do math,reading,writing and spelling every day. Then alternate social studies and science, art and phys ed.