Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Lounge The Lounge

Anyone made a major life change?

Posted by   + Show Post

I mean after having kids. It seems like when you have kids, it's hard to take risks (well, duh, we want our kids to be safe and fed) but I'm 45 and thinking of leaving my job in a few years to start a business.

I'm wondering who else has tried this? Please share your story if you've done something risky. Did you get what you hoped for? Did it not work out but somehow you recovered? Are you working on making the change now?

When I was little I wanted to be a dancer, even got a college degree in it. But I never found work in that field, not any  that paid, lol. Now I'm an ESL teacher. Been doing this for 20 years. I used to love my job, but the current political climate is making it painful. My days are no longer filled with helping children. My mind is always on paperwork, gossiping coworkers, and watching my back. I'm tired of it. And, things are changing so rapidly that I no longer have the job security that I used to. It seems teachers in my city can get fired on whim now. So I'm thinking it's not worth it to keep plugging away, come home too tired to enjoy my own kids. hmmm.

Andreaboy kissing mom

by on Jun. 26, 2012 at 8:01 PM
Replies (11-19):
emptynest242
by Theresa on Jul. 3, 2012 at 8:22 PM

Hi there, I have fibromyalgia as well, and have had it for 12 years now. It's not easy working with it, but it can be done if you pace yourself and get proper sleep, as well as the right meds. I have to get a good nights sleep or I can't function the next day at all. I do have fibro fogs at times, and some days are bad when everything irrates me, but that's when I know to back it down and don't overdue it the next day. I wish you well and hope you can find something to work with your fibro too. Good luck, Theresa

Quoting momof5mi: