Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Lounge The Lounge

Question about a dog bite.

Posted by on Jul. 12, 2012 at 10:42 PM
  • 19 Replies
I have a question for anyone that has been bitten by a dog or treated someone with a dog bite.
I work in the veterinary field and while I was working I had the misfortune of being bit on my bicep. Basically my whole upper ask ended up in the mouth of a Saint Bernard. I was taken to the ER in my small town, which has a horrible reputation. They put 4 stitches in one of the puncture wounds and used suture tape for the others. This was not a gentle bite. That dog bit down hard and I felt like it bit once didn't remove its teeth and bit down again. My arm was severely swollen and bruised even before I left for the ER.
It has now been 6 days since I was treated. My arm is swollen so badly that my skin feels like it is stretching too tight. It hurts to straighten it, it feels like there is something pulling and it's not the stitches. The suture tapes already fell off due to bleeding on the second day, but those wounds seem like they are healing. My arm is not warm to the touch and I have been on antibiotics since it happened.
I want to know if anyone thinks this is normal or not. I was bit before, not this badly and it was nothing like this. The swelling is really concerning me as well as the pain. I have been taking pain meds to ease the throbbing. My boss says it is just tissue damage and will heal.y husband is out of town and wants me to go to the hospital that is 40 miles away.
Am I over-reacting in thinking there might be something really wrong?
by on Jul. 12, 2012 at 10:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
dsneyprincess74
by New Member on Jul. 12, 2012 at 10:54 PM