Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Lounge The Lounge

Nervous about going back to school.

Posted by on Jul. 12, 2012 at 11:59 PM
  • 18 Replies

Hello ladies!  I'm new to Cafemom and I'm in need of either some advice or encouragement. I'm married and I have two kids. I'm currently taking a nurse's  aide class but am seriously considering going back to school for nursing. I'm positive this is the field I want to be in.  I love helping people. I'm very nervous because I haven't been in school since I graduated high school 13 yrs ago and I've heard nurses have crazy schedules.  Is this true?  I'm also afraid I'm not going to see my kids often. For any nurses out there, is this a career you would suggest for a mom? What is your advice? As you've probably noticed already I tend to over-anylize things. I just want to make sure I'm making the right choice not only for me but for my family as well.

Thank you

by on Jul. 12, 2012 at 11:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
kikitice
by Member on Jul. 13, 2012 at 2:20 AM
1 mom liked this

I know a few nurses and while the schedules can be different, they seem to be able to spend time with their families. You are just nervous like you said but going to nursing school will definitely be a good career move for you and your family. Good luck!

hayliedlr
by JoAnna on Jul. 13, 2012 at 7:20 AM
1 mom liked this

I am doing the same thing.  I just started school for nursing.  I knew in my heart that it was something I needed to do.

marymo2011
by Member on Jul. 13, 2012 at 7:32 AM
1 mom liked this