Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Fresh green bean prep question?

Posted by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:40 AM
  • 16 Replies

I just bought my first batch of fresh green beans. I bought a pound. I found that I need to wash and pull off the ends to prep before I cook. Ok, easy enough. My question is, can I do this all at once for the whole pound, even though I won't cook it all at once? Or is it better to wash and cut as I need them for meals? If I can do the whole pound, how do I store them? Right now they are just in the veggie bag from the store.  I'm new at fresh food prep, storage, and cooking, lol! Hopefully some of ya'll have more experience!

~peace~
by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:40 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Lindalou907
by Bronze Member on Mar. 25, 2013 at 12:50 PM
1 mom liked this

Good question! I don't know! But just in the interest of time management I would do them all at once and then maybe freeze what you aren't going to eat right away. Half of all produce gets wasted in this country and I think sometimes it's just because we don't feel like eating it again the next day or two :)

sarasue719
by Member on Mar. 25, 2013 at 2:56 PM

I know! That is what I fear! Yes, its a great deal to buy fresh and not prepackaged, but I guess the extra 5 minutes it takes to wash and pull off the ends is too much. Lol! We are trying to be a healthier and more cost effective family so I think freezing is a good idea!

I just hear freezing makes them lose the nutrients? But maybe that is why people say to blanch them first?

Lol, I just dont know!

Quoting Lindalou907: