Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Bridesmaid wearing a Bolero... does this mean they're conservative?

Posted by on Apr. 28, 2013 at 11:05 PM
  • 12 Replies

I'm going to be a Bridesmaid in my friend's wedding this summer, I'm shopping online for bachelorette party dresses... and I'm starting to wonder just how much skin is appropriate to reveal? 

I haven't seen my friend in years, and I've never met her fiance... but I do know that: he is religious, she was recently baptized, and my Bridesmaid wear includes a bolero to cover my shoulders (this inspired my main concern-- does a bolero mean they're pretty consertative and I should steer clear of cocktail dresses? Or is that a traditional thing in a church?).

I have a few questions, keep in mind this is my first time:

A.) Being a Bridesmaid 

B.) Attending a Rehearsal dinner

C.) Attending a bachelorette party

What I should wear to the Rehearsal dinner? I was thinking black Express pants and a white blouse? Would a dress be better, if so how much skin is too much at a Rehearsal dinner? Here is what my outfit looks like, this "dress" fits more like a top:

What should I wear to the bachlor/bachelorette party? How much skin is appropriate to show?

Does asking Bridesmaids to wear a bolero during the wedding mean it would also be inappropriate to show your shoulders at the bachelorette party???

Thanks for any advice, suggestions, experienced bridesmaid tips, ANYTHING!

Thank you!:)

by on Apr. 28, 2013 at 11:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
huntersmama711
by Member on Apr. 28, 2013 at 11:08 PM
My MOH is wearing a bolero jacket over her dress for modesty purposes. I'd say just be respectful of the length of your dress and the neckline. I'll post a picture of the dress we chose for MOH.
huntersmama711
by Member on Apr. 28, 2013 at 11:10 PM

Mobile Photo