Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Lounge The Lounge

My dog has been carried off

Posted by on May. 1, 2013 at 10:14 AM
  • 74 Replies
1 mom liked this
Let me preface my story by saying we live on a farm 5 miles from our only neighbor. Our dogs are farm dogs and have never been fenced in, and have never run off or had any problems.

2 nights ago my boxer Freddy and my corgi mix Penny were outside as usual. Typically they stay out during the day and then come in at night. Freddy came to the sliding glass door and was foaming at the mouth and barking like crazy at something at something we couldn't see. Note that I'm a former vet tech and know my dog didn't have rabies or anything, he's UTD on all shots. In any event, he was barking and howling and we didn't see Penny with him. It's unusual for him to be afraid of anything out here, he barks at people but when it comes to animals out here, he's fought and killed coyotes and bobcats so he isn't typically afrid enough to run away when our home is approached by wild animals not welcome here.

Anyway, we put their food and water out instead of trying to being him in because Penny wasn't with him and she's a small dog not capable of defending herself without him, and yesterday I went out to take a walk with my son. We walked over two miles and Penny and Freddy always walk with us but Penny never showed. My husband who was working in our barn hasn't seen her either. Let me just say she is so friendly shed never miss the chance to be right there with anyone outside. I spent all day calling her and looking for her and she's still missing.