Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Lounge The Lounge

My dad has Alzheimer's and I'm worried

Posted by on May. 27, 2013 at 12:22 AM
  • 10 Replies

More than likely he doesn't have long term care insurance on his policy and if state aid pickes up the acces IF long term care is needed...(then what)  I'm so scared of what the future will bring. Many of my family members have died with this disease. Anyone else have advise? 

by on May. 27, 2013 at 12:22 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bigmama423
by Liz on May. 27, 2013 at 1:05 AM
My step grandpa has had it for awhile now, along with dementia. I know nothing insurance wise. I know its very hard to handle at times though... :/
GirlWithANikon
by Member on May. 27, 2013 at 5:22 AM

can he stay with you instead of entering a care facility? I have no experience with this but my very good friend's gmom died of it and lived with her family til it happened years and years later.

Sunshine257
by Member on May. 27, 2013 at 5:26 AM
I watched a news show about coconut oil every day helps keep it from getting worse.. I hope no one in my family gets it. I have heard how difficult it can be. I hope you get answers.
amonkeymom
by Amy on May. 27, 2013 at 11:40 AM

No advice, but wanted to give you a big hug.  I've had 2 grandparents who had dementia/alzheimers and one of my uncles is in the beginning stages.  

hugs

Kmakksmom
by Stefanie on May. 27, 2013 at 1:42 PM
My husband's maternal grandparents both had it. One died of a heart attack and the other died a couple weeks after from a broken heart. He was just too sad to go on without her.

Anyway, Alzheimer's is awful. I'm sorry.
Amber3118
by on May. 27, 2013 at 8:14 PM