Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Fall Fun Fall Fun

Breakfast: Basically the Best Meal Ever

By mariamelee on Nov. 1, 2011 at 12:00 AM

As a freelance writer, I do a lot of research.  This often leads me into weird rabbit holes online—especially when I’m doing research on medical websites.  It turns into this train wreck sort of thing where I immediately convince myself that I’m causing myself and everyone around me to develop cancer because we don’t eat enough green leafy vegetables or flax seed.  (It isn’t really a rational jump, but this is where my brain goes.) 

One of the topics I’ve come across again and again is family mealtime.  Depending on what you’re reading, family mealtime can be attributed to better grades, less drugs, happier kids, healthier kids, college superstars, rocket scientists, etc.  Being an anxious sort of person, I immediately start wondering when the last time we sat down for a peaceful family dinner was.   My husband works an hour away and has an additional part time job.  I work from home and often slap dinner together between answering client emails.  But these are excuses, right?  DON’T I WANT MY KIDS TO BE ROCKET SCIENTISTS? WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME? 

I joke, but it really does weigh on my mind.  We try to do at least one family dinner of sorts a week, even if it means going to a restaurant.  But dinner times just aren’t the best times for me and my busy family—a family that includes a toddler who would rather throw food than discuss how his day went.