Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I took a big step

Posted by on Apr. 25, 2012 at 7:32 PM
  • 5 Replies
2 moms liked this

At least I think it was a big step.   The stbxh has run me through the ringer with the cheating and unfounded accusations of my mistakes I had a really hard time with our separation, we'd been together going on 18 years now, it all hit me very hard.   He cheated on me and two weeks after moving out introduced his girlfriend to our kids, anyway I have accepted the situation and am actually very comfortable with it.  We have gone to a mediator and have all he paperwork done just need to file for divorce, he is paying for everything since I am still a student and asked me to wait till next month so he could gather funds, fine with me.   Well for a few months now he's hinted how he wouldn't mind being friends with benefits, I laugh it off because well to me it's kind of like karma - he cheated on me with her and now wants to cheat on her with me - so I am comforted knowing I at least had a faithful mate for 17 years she has had him for less than one.   I digress though.   I told him yesterday that he needs help, that he has issues and needs to figure out what his problem is - why he insisted he was in love with this woman but can't leave me alone why he is obsessed with me not forgetting him when I find someone else.  I told him that he no longer had any right in knowing any of my personal life, the kids are the only people he is allowed to ask me about or discuss.  I told him that when I find somebody I will not make the same mistakes he's made.    I told him that he would not be welcome in my home if he was going to continue to disrespect me this way.     If it came to it we would begin dropping the kids off at our parent's houses and interact solely for the kids benefit.  I feel like I finaly got it through to him that he has no hold over me that I am my own person and he is