Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

20 years down the drain

Posted by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 4:59 PM
  • 14 Replies

http://www.cafemom.com/group/115189/forums/read/18166097/talk_about_blind_sided_update_4

that was my post

I'm Tricia. I have two teenagers. A boy, 17, and a girl, almost 16.

We live in Louisiana, and, long story short (full story is linked): my husband left us two days ago.

so i'm pretty new to this divorce thing.

by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 4:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tottaxi
by Battle Weary on Mar. 8, 2013 at 6:55 PM
3 moms liked this

Just read your post.  I think you are really handling this well and acting totally appropriately for the situation.  I feel for you and your children.  Betrayal is a tough pill to swallow.

I've gotta say that I do disagree on one thing.  Don't just give him a pass on this and "not take a dime".  Don't make this easy on him in any way.  The CS...go for the max.  Make sure that he has to pay his portion of any continuing education for them.  It doesn't stop when they turn 18.  He owes them this.

You had a long marriage.  He should pay you maintenance.  Shit happens.  You don't know what Life will bring.  Even if you just sock the money away for a rainy day, take what you have due you.  Retirement years come sooner than one can imagine.  Why short-change your own future because of his poor judgement?  At this point you just want to wash your hands of him.  I totally get that.  But don't "cut off your nose to spite your face". 

I'm glad you have chosen not to respond to his mistress.  Nothing can come of it.

Now comes the part where you must keep all communication limited to text or email so that you have documentation.  Keep it brief and unemotional.  This is the Business of Divorce from here on out.