Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

It's All About Me

Posted by on Dec. 4, 2014 at 8:11 PM
  • 9 Replies
1 mom liked this

After 23 years, I finally know what I want to be when I grow up.  LOL Most of you know my back story.  Married my childhood sweetheart.  Married him, had our first son as I finished a dual bachelors degree.  Followed him from failed college attempts to him enlisting in the army and becoming successful.  I was there to watch him graduate basic training and to help him study during flight school.  I was there 9/11 and thru deployments.  We had two more babies, mostly me alone with the kids.  He went crazy each deployment but his last one he went totally crazy.  

Throughhout the many years after Id graduated, he encouraged me to go back to school.  Now I see it was half assed encouragement.  He'd say do for me but he'd throw in a Im glad you don't work so when I have vacation, we can just go.  Or he'd make it known I had to take off from work if I worked for sick kids because his job was more important and too irregular.  I had even looked at grad school 18 years ago to be a special Ed teacher but I knew he wouldn't care for the kids while I did that or studied and the expense to our family would be great.  

After that, I just became housewife, gave up my dreams of that Madison avenue career Id had in college. I knew the kids were the most important thing I'd ever do in life and I'm proud, but I'd lost me.