Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Am I over reacting???

Posted by on Oct. 27, 2016 at 10:16 PM
  • 3 Replies
I've been talking to this guy for a while now.
Since he's in a different state a few hours away
We have been talking through text, calls and FaceTime, with visits as our schedule allows. He's an MD in a residency program and I'm a nurse
In our home state. I've known him a good decade. I know it makes me sound super obsessive but all day yesterday and today I haven't heard from him. We usually talk all day through text and FaceTime when we get off work. The messages I've sent him are shown as delivered but he hasn't read any of mine today. I'm just really confused and a little worried. He's the first one I've opened my heart to since my divorce and I'm really struggling here with not letting my crazy thoughts take hold
by on Oct. 27, 2016 at 10:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
tottaxi
by Battle Weary on Oct. 28, 2016 at 10:19 AM

When I read your post the first thought that hit me was how strange it is that you are able to have that much communication with a guy in his residency.  Usually people in that position barely have time to eat or sleep, let alone spend that much time texting and doing face time.

Maybe it would help to limit your contact just out of practicality.  I would feel overwhelmed if I had to expend that much effort in any relationship.  Most people who work don't have the luxury of being on their phone at all, let alone THAT much.  I would feel smothered if I was expected to be in that much contact with anyone.

Dial it back and set up ONE specific time each day.  Have a life outside of this guy.  Never make anyone your sole focus.

Goobergal
by Bronze Member on Oct. 28, 2016 at 6:45 PM