Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

make way for the new step mom!

Posted by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 9:32 PM
  • 13 Replies

I'm gearing up to be a step mother to the 4 year old equivalent of Dr, Jekyll and Mr Hyde. She can be sweet as pie, eager to please, mind her manners and play well with others.... Or all hell can break loose and its "NO!!!" to everything (accompanied by a smile that says 'screw you!"), no sharing, screaming, throwing things and purposefully doing things to try to get under your skin. I'm new to the step mother part of life, but have a lot of experience with kids through my nieces, god son and the kids I treat at work. 

DH feels badly about seeing her infrequently and often lets the tantrums slide. We differ on where to draw the line and how rules should be enforced at home. If I say no to jumping on the bed and she cries or tantrums, I make sure she is in a safe place and wont be hurt if she starts to flail, but I ignore the behavior. However, as soon as we have a tear or a lip quiver - DH runs to her and dries her tears... and all of a sudden I'm the step monster. 

I'm in for an adventure and am SOOO thankful you ladies are out there for words of wisdom and support. Thank you for the support so far :o) 

by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 9:32 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
pristine729
by Bronze Member on Nov. 9, 2011 at 10:04 PM
That's kinda how I'm feeling
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
SarahLynn0315
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 10:36 PM
1 mom liked this
Well, she's four. She's going to make you wanna pull your hair out sometimes.

Other than that, go to another room. She is his daughter. If he'd rather raise a brat than listen to reasoning, let him be the one to deal with it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
packermomof2
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 10:58 PM

She's four... four years olds do that sort of thing...

ShannaBee
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 11:10 PM