Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Step childern hate me and my husband is giving up

Posted by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 5:20 PM
  • 35 Replies

Hi, I am new to this and kind of in desperation. I to am a step parent. My husband and I have been married for four years. His kids and I don;t really have a relationship. When we first started dating, I had a good relationship with them. We would play, talk and have a good time. Since our marriage it has gone down hill. I am at a loss. My husband now, wants to leave to make his kids happy. To me I feel that is a cop out. I have suggested counceling but he hasn;t responded. We have a good relationship (so I thought) but now that he wants to leave I feel like he is giving up. Does anyone have any suggestions?

by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 5:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sandeeyo
by Le Bonjour Chat on Feb. 12, 2012 at 5:24 PM

Why don't you have a good relationship with his kids anymore?

Dana333810
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 5:56 PM

You haven't really provided us with much information to really give you any useful suggestions.

Why don't you have a good relationship with his children anymore? What happened?

Why has your relationship with your husband gone downhill?

How much does DH have his children?

Faeta
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 8:01 PM
hi! Welcome to the group!

there are not a lot of details, but everything you wrote could have been done by me except.. Instead of him wanting out, i do.

i dont know how old his kids are... But it took sm here to point this out to me.

when dh and i were dating... I wasnt in the house, we still played games and got to know each other. We were friends. Hubby doesnt play dungeons & dragons.. But all the kids and i do. So we did have a good friendship thing.

marriage didnt really change it. I just became a part of the house. I didnt act a parent, i was just a cool aunt.