Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Baby on the way and boyfriend wants me to do more for his 2 kids???

Posted by on Apr. 23, 2012 at 5:27 PM
  • 26 Replies

Hi there,

I'm new on here and wanted to find an outlet where I could discuss issues arising from a relationship where my partner already has 2 kids.  My boyfriend/partner and I are not married and I do not plan on getting married anytime soon (my choice for now)... we are pregnant and I'm almost 7 months along with my first baby.  He has 2 kids ages 5 and 7 boy and girl.  Their mother basically is not in the picture, but does call them from time to time.  The kids currently live with their grandmother (partners parents) and he recently moved in about 2 months ago.  Things are progressing where his 2 kids will live with us, however, logistically, we are trying to figure out the details.  I work full time and I'm a professional.  Just started by job about 3 weeks ago and doing well, but it's a new job along with being pregnant and working hard to learn most things within the next 3 months before I have to take maternity leave when our baby is due.  We had a conversation last night where he wants to bring the kids to live permanently with us, which I feel fine with, however, I asked him if he was prepared for that logistically, etc.  I just barely make it to work now even waking up early and getting my dogs fed, myself ready, etc.  He wakes up gets himself ready and leaves for work.  He expects me to take his kids to school and though I woul think I could do it maybe once a week or so, I don't feel it is a fair situation when we have a baby on the way and I too put in my hours and need to be here at a specific time, etc.  Basically I am the bread winner and it's my home I own he moved into.  He asked me last night if I wanted to really be a 'mother' to his kids and I explained that they have a mother and I will