Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

I will keep this short and sweet! My stepson is in the hospital with some what of a stomach flu...but we came to find out that mom who is a nurse has been giving my dh kids HER prescription pills to comfort them...Am I the only one who is completely upset about this? She is playing god with drugs and giving them to my step children. Thoughts please? What to do?

Ashley

by on May. 23, 2012 at 9:06 PM
Replies (51-60):
mestiza_07
by Member on May. 23, 2012 at 10:11 PM

Quoting Vaughna15:

Quoting mestiza_07:

Here's the thing...it may not be a big deal bc it was zofran but still it was a prescription drug. Even as a nurse I run everything with my pedi or ask drs I work with before I give anything and even then sometimes I check with our pharmacist. If you and your dh are uneasy with it...talk with someone and since he is in the hospital talk to a social worker that works there for guidance they are good resources. She may be their mother but your dh also should have his say so its his right as a parent...

Quoting Vaughna15:

Good points but we still dont know what is wrong with him???

Here is my question for you...what if in their parenting plan she has conrtol of all medical, because she does...that still doesnt give her the right to be giving these pills right?

No it doesn't. She is a parent, no longer practicing as a nurse, she doesnt have the eduacation to prescribe medications. This is not in her scope of practice even if she was a nurse.

dawnnamarie
by Silver Member on May. 23, 2012 at 10:12 PM
I'm not sure what that one does.... Was it to help calm his stomach from the flu? Still bs cuz there's child doses of all meds!!

Quoting Vaughna15:

Quoting dawnnamarie: